Settling Down

Right now, I’m kicking back listening to Natasha Bedingfield’s super awesome song Single. ‘Cause that’s how I wanna be, right now. Man, this song speaks on so many different levels.

I’m still contemplating another post about writing, but I’ve got a few kinks to work out before I post it. There is still a bit of information that hasn’t come to me, and I’m waiting a bit to put the pieces together in a fashion that makes more sense to me, so it will hopefully make more sense for you.

The lyrics of this song, though. They’ve caught me. I have to listen once more, at the very least. This song starts out with a unique beat of drums and then her voice comes in. Straightforward, she begins to tell it like it is; how she feels, and how it should be.

I say “how it should be” here, because everyone should tell it like it is. That’s the way that it should be. People should be able to say how they feel, what they mean, tell it like it is, mean what they say and leave it be at that.

So many people have to complicate things by sugarcoating their words. They sprinkle their words with adjectives and feeling in a manner that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, but the truth of their words give an entirely different meaning from what your ears are hearing.

Whoa, there. That was a bit off topic, and not quite what I had planned. Still, I will leave it because it’s the truth of the matter. Now, back to what I was originally saying here…

This song speaks on so many levels. It provokes feeling and thought and emotion within the words, because of the words and the manner in which the words are delivered. She’s straightforward with what she wants to say, and she says it; point blank. It’s there. There’s no question nor doubt about it.

Later in the song, there’s a phrase that she says: I’m not saying I wouldn’t settle down; ’cause I would.

Yeah. That part, along with the part of falling in love, I don’t agree with. I’ve been in love for quite some time. I’ve recently found a feeling of freedom. I’ve been cooped up, settled down for so long. I’ve lost track of time, lost my focus, and worst of all, I feel like I have forgotten who I am.

Right now. This. Is. Me. I may be searching for who I am, and who I want to be, but I’m on the path of finding out for sure. Allow me the freedom to make the mistakes that I choose to make. I will bear the scars of my actions proudly, for they each tell where I have been, what I have done, and ultimately tell me who I am.

Yes, I am searching. I’m partially, if not entirely, lost. I am enjoying the moment that I am in. Don’t take it from me. I like who I am right now, in this moment. I’m enjoying myself. Leave me be. I am me. I know that.

This is me, ready to take on the world; to find myself, again, or to lose myself in the attempt. Don’t take it from me. I like who I am right now, in this moment. I’m enjoying myself. Leave me be. I am me.

Searching. Waiting no more. Scouting. Waiting no longer. There. In the distance. Do you see that? Is that reality or a dream? Who cares? I want to know what it is and what it has in store for me. Do you see that? Is it reality or a dream?

This is me. This is who I am. Searching. Wandering. Waiting no longer. This is me. I am enjoying the moment that I am in. Don’t take it from me. I like who I am right now, in this moment. I’m enjoying myself. Leave me be to make the mistakes that I choose to learn from, so that I may learn not to make them in the future. This is me. I will bear the scars of my actions proudly, for they each tell a story of where I have been, what I have done, and ultimately tell me who I have come to be.


Yes, I know that this post went completely off course. Sometimes, we need to go off course in order to get a better understanding of where we should be. Going astray at times is often the best way to know where we should be, who we are, and where we would like to be. Not only, but it also gives each of us a sense of how to get where we’re going, once we know where that place is. Some of us are still searching, making mistakes along the way. Others know, with and without doubt, where they want to be.

Leave a Reply

