Fare Thee Well, August

After finding some more popular blogs on the internet prior to June, I also ran across one or two that caught my attention that were written by people just like me. I found myself blogging by the beginning of June. It distracted me from the everyday happenings that I didn’t want to think about and deal with as I should have. It was my escape.

Come the end of July, having been a blogger for a little over a month, I had found so many writers who write interesting material and I felt as though I had become one of them. The world was at my fingertips, quite literally. Many of the bloggers I read were setting goals for themselves, or simply running on a random schedule due to a load of life being delivered on a constant basis. I still wanted to join in the writing fun.

I decided by the first of August that I would also set a list of achievable goals and get busy writing. I found several interesting topics and did some research, took necessary notes, and only got a little actual writing done. I feel horrible for not having completed the list of simple goals that I created for myself.

Unfortunately, life got in the way of my writing and I was unable to concentrate on thoughts and topics long enough to write anything of use. Though I feel that I have offered better quality posts during the month, I feel bad for having been pulled away so many times by so many distracting matters.

September is just around the corner, and my fingers are still able to push the keys on the keyboard in front of me. Just the same, they’re able to pick up a pencil or a pen and jot down notes and thoughts. Since I have a list of goals already in place, I will be working toward the goals that I have not yet achieved, while making each entry that I post of the best quality that I’m able to muster at that time.

There are four entries about writing that I have not finished along with three entries that are not personally inclined nor benefited from. I will also do my best to include on-topic images that follow the theme of the entry, so long as I’m able to find something suitable.

I have learned this past month that I am an overly-analytical, optimistic pessimist. Yes, I understand how confusing that must sound. It was recently pointed out to me that I have a tendency to constantly expect the worst of any given situation, even those that I feel I’m able to control, no matter what ground I have to base my ideas upon. My life has surely not been an easy one. The direction has shifted so many times at the hands of others that I am unsatisfied with how everything has turned out and come to be. I feel at times that there is very little reason that I should be optimistic about my life. It seems no matter how hard I try to make things work, some stray wire causes the whole package to blow. I guess I’ll work on that, too.

There are many other things that usually demand my attention when I sit down to write. Many of them should be considered just as important, or more important, than my writing, I feel. I should not simply put them off without thinking about how much those things matter to me. I realize this on a recurring basis.

During the month of September, I plan on making a few changes to become less pessimistic, more optimistic, and more opportunistic, in an ethical manner.

A third of the way through the month, I received an e-mail with the subject line: ‘saw this and thought of you’. It was an inspirational e-mail with just a single image inside. The image reads: “The greater the artist, the greater the doubt. Perfect confidence is granted to the less talented as a consolation prize.” …a quote from Robert Hughes. This e-mail may not seem much to some, but being the first of its kind that I have received, I wanted to be sure to include this with a ‘Thank you’ to the fellow writer for the inspiration.

I would also like to thank all of you who stop by to read what I have to say. Thank you for taking the time to stop by, view what I’ve written, ‘Like’, and share your thoughts in a comment. Even if you’re one of the silent readers who are unable to like an entry or make a comment, thank you for visiting.

Here’s to September. May it bring many well-written words and meaningful, memorable moments.

10 thoughts on “Fare Thee Well, August

  1. Good morning you overly-analytical, optimistic pessimist, you. Speaking as an overly-analytical, pessimistic optimist, I pretty much know where you are coming from. And I’ve said optimist, but that is today. There can be a big switcheroo there if life and the universe but in their butts.
    I think you hit the nail on the head (sorry for the cliché) several times here, the first when you said ‘written by people just like me’. You fit in very well because I think most people on here, well, the writers anyway, are full of the same doubts and worries. The email you received just about sums it up. May I take this quote over to The Writer’s Codex, because he is just as doubt ridden?
    And I’m noisy and full of confidence and as bumptious as they come, until I look at my writing, and then I want to curl up into a ball and shrivel. There have been occasions when I have sent my fiction out into the big wide world when I have actually blushed at the thought of someone else reading it.
    I think it goes with the territory.

    • A good morning to you, as well, I hope. (Good afternoon, most likely.)

      Clichés are often quite helpful. No need to apologize. Just remember to use them sparingly. — I don’t see the harm in sharing words of wisdom with others.

      Your writing should lead you to jump up and down even more so than you do while you’re writing it. Many people enjoy reading what you’ve written, and I’m definitely one of them. Thank you for sharing with us this morning.

  2. C.A. I love reading your blog. I can understand how you may feel you’re not getting enough writing done. Don’t worry. Just keep plugging away. Everyday is a new beginning. Thanks for visiting my blog, too. I always look forward to reading your thoughtful comments.

    • Thank you. Yes, life tends to get in the way. Writing also tends to get in the way of life at times. I suppose it’s a two-way street. You’re absolutely right: Today is a new day, and tomorrow will be another.

Leave a Reply

